Brussels Regional Public Service - Brussels Mobility

City 30

The basics

The 30 City basics

From 1 January 2021, the general rule is that all roads in the capital are 30 km/h.

How to know the speed limit?

The general rule: 30 km/h.

Image of a sign that indicates that you’re entering a built-up area and the speed limit is 30 km/h unless stated otherwise. Image of a sign that tells you that the default speed limit is 30 km/h unless otherwise indicated by another speed limit sign.

The exceptions : 20, 50 or 70 km/h.

Image of 2 signs indicating that the speed limit is 50 or 70 km/h. Image of 2 signs indicating where a shared space starts or ends. The speed limit is 20 km/h and when you leave the shared space the default speed limit (30 km/h) applies.

The interactive map.

This map of the Brussels-Capital Region shows the speed limits that apply from 1 January 2021.

Does the 30 limit apply to everyone?

It is the law. Everyone must obey the speed limit. It applies equally to cars, vans, lorries, motorbikes, mopeds, buses, bikes and scooters.

It also applies to separated bike lanes and separated lanes for public transport.
The only exceptions are:

• trams, which aren’t subject to the highway code.
• emergency vehicles in blue-light mode.
• snowploughs.

Speed cameras

The aim of having a city-wide 30 limit is to save lives on the roads.

It isn’t to increase the number of fines or to catch everyone on the speed cameras. It’s about encouraging people to obey the 30 limit by choice.

The police will begin enforcing the new speed limit on 1 January 2021. Penalties will apply, as they would for any traffic offence.

The number of fixed speed cameras (there are currently 90 on the Region’s roads) will increase to 150 over the next 3 years across both roads managed by the Region and roads managed by the communes.

Any revenue generated from fines will be paid into the Regional Road Safety Fund and will be used to raise awareness, make infrastructure safer for all users, and purchase speed enforcement equipment.